You are here

Databases

Members Only Research Tools

Penn State Alumni Association members have complimentary access to the content and licensed databases below. Systematic copying or the use of external search engines or robots to copy unreasonably large quantities of data from these products is prohibited. For access, use your Penn State Alumni Association 10-digit member ID and your last name as a password to login to the site. Join the Alumni Association. Need help logging in?

New Databases

Race Relations in America

Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

Colonial America

Original documents exchanged between the governers of British colonies in North America and the Caribbean and the Colonial Office in Britain. Among the correspondence are diaries, maps, broadsides, laws, public notices, newspaper clippings, and more covering all aspects of seventeenth and eighteenth-century American history. Many of the documents are handwritten and are not keyword searchable. They can be searched by date, name, region and topics including; early settlements, Native Americans, Trade, Wars, Slavery and the slave trade. Penn State has access to Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries and Module 2: Towards Revolution

Databases

Ebsco's Academic Search

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Complete lists of titles and collections.

Project MUSE

Search hundreds of scholarly journals for full-text articles in the humanities, arts, and social sciences journals.

ProQuest ABI

Full-text articles from more than 1,000 top business publications-Keyword search or browse news, feature articles, and in-depth analysis from newspapers, trade publications, magazines, and scholarly journals.

US Newsstream (formerly ProQuest National Newspapers)

Current and past news articles from four of the most widely-respected national newspapers: the New York Times (including the Magazine and Book Review), Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and Christian Science Monitor. Full text for all newspapers goes back to the mid-1980s.

 

Databases added April, 2015

Mergent Archives

Mergent Archives is an online database with access to a collection of over 180,000 corporate and industry related documents, including Annual Reports. This collection is primarily useful for historical research and also includes the Mergent Patents Archives which consists of 9.2 million patents going back to the mid 1800s. The database also includes the Country Report module: DnB Country Risk Profile, DnB Country RiskLine Report, and Mergent Country Profile. Also includes D & B Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios.

Mergent Intellect

Provides data on over 100 million privately held companies.

Mergent Key Business Ratios

Key Business Ratios on the Web provides access to industry financial norms and ratios. These industry benchmarks are compiled from Dun & Bradstreet's database of public and private companies.

Mergent Online

MergentOnline (formerly FISonline) is a subscription-based service offering information on over 15,000 U.S. public companies and 30,000 non-U.S. public companies. MergentOnline is produced by Mergent, Inc., formerly known as Moody's). Mergent/Moody's is a publisher of detailed business descriptions, corporate histories and financial statements since 1900.

Hoover's

Hoover's Online provides company and industry information, company news, information on initial public offerings, and career and personal finance information.

Known issues with Hoovers

  • If you are asked for a username and password after clicking on the Hoover's link, please clear your browser cache, delete cookies, close and restart your session.
  • Dun & Bradstreet restricts downloading capabilities on Hoovers. However, access to Mergent Intellect includes about 20 million more privately held companies than Hoovers (about 110 million in total), and should provide the downloading capability you are looking for. Please try Mergent Intellect if you have problems downloading from Hoover's.

Databases added December, 2015

Sage Business Researcher

Sage Business Researcher is a collection of original in-depth reports on timely topics in business and management. Reports are published every other week.

Sage Stats (Business Stats)

Business Stats provides access to historic, current, and projected demographic and industry data at the state, county, ZIP code, and metropolitan statistical area level. Data are especially useful for business plan projects and market research assignments.

Databases added August, 2015

Sage Journals

Provides full-text access to more than 730 Sage journals.

Sage Knowledge  

A gateway to those SAGE reference publications (encyclopedias and handbooks) and eBooks that Penn State has acquired. Also includes CQ Historic Documents Collection. 

Sage Research Methods

A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools.  

CQ Electronic Library  

A reference source for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. 

Adam Matthew Digital Databases

American Indian Histories and Culture  

A digital collection providing insight into American Indians and European/American relations from first contact through the civil rights movement of the twentieth century. Primary source materials including: manuscripts, artwork, photographs, interactive maps, printed materials and newspapers.  

Eighteenth Century Journals II  

The Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center holds one of the finest collections of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals in the world.

Empire Online  

Approximately 60,000 images of original sources (manuscript and printed materials), documenting the history of exploration, cultural contact, and colonialism. Topics include race, class and empire, religion, art, and economic aspects of empire.

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1948  

All British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1948: These formerly restricted British government documents provide unprecedented levels of detail of one of the most turbulent periods of Chinese history. 

Jewish Life in America, c.1654-1954  

Original manuscript materials from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York including six major organisational collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers that document the jewish experience in America. In addition to manuscript collections, rare printed books and pamphlets from the Soble and Rosenbach collections at the American Jewish Historical Society are also included.

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 (Section II)

By focussing on substantial collections of original archival material – manuscript, typescript and ephemera – from key libraries in Britain and America – Adam Matthew provides the primary sources that will enable students and scholars to examine these issues in detail and at first hand: Changing Lifestyles, 1950-1975 Youth Culture, Student Protests, Mai ‘68, Popular Culture; TV; Music; Movies, Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups, The Space Race, Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers, Vietnam War, Nuclear Disarmament.